

City of Goodyear

Goodyear Municipal Court/ Council Chambers 14455 W. Van Buren St., Ste. B101 (SE Corner of 145th Ave. & Van Buren St.) Goodyear, AZ 85338

Legislation Text

File #: 15-5588, Version: 1

YOUTH COMMISSION REVIEW, RECOGNITION AND APPOINTMENTS RECOMMENDATION:

- 1. The Youth Commission will present a Public Service Announcement to Council.
- 2. Chairman Emily Heinz will present a review of Youth Commission projects and future plans to Council.
- 3. Recognize Emily Heinz, DeVasia Nelson, Ericka Green, McKenzie Ayres, and DeAnthoni Wilkins for their contributions to the City of Goodyear during their time on the Youth Commission.
- 4. Appoint Delaney Jackson, Serena Effing, Siobhan Ferrall, Kyle James, Jonathan Sangillo, and Joseph Waugh as members of the Youth Commission to serve two-year terms, expiring May 31, 2017.
- 5. Reappoint Daniel Rivera and Veronica Galek as members of the Youth Commission to serve two-year terms, expiring on May 31, 2017.
- 6. City Clerk will administer the Oath of Loyalty.

PURPOSE:

On May 31, 2015, the 2014-2015 Youth Commission term came to a close. To keep the City Council apprised of their activities over the year, a Youth Commission representative will provide an update to the Mayor and Council on former and upcoming Commission activities. The end of the term created eight vacancies on the Commission. Applications were solicited and the Council Subcommittee for Boards, Commissions and Committees met to review submissions, interview applicants and make a recommendation for appointment of Commission members.

Additionally, the Youth Commission recently collaborated with the City's Communications Department on the planning, development and execution of a Public Service Announcement video conveying the dangers of distracted driving by teenagers. This video will be available on the City's webpage, and social media outlets for public review. (Lauren Valencia, Assistant to the Council)