

Meeting Minutes

Arts and Culture Commission: Public Art Subcommittee

Tuesday, October 16, 2018	9:00 AM	Parks and Recreation Conference Room
		14455 W. Van Buren St., Ste. C103
		Goodyear, AZ 85338

1. CALL TO ORDER

Arts and Culture Coordinator Guylene Ozlanski called the meeting to order at 9:27 a.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Present: 3 - Committee Member Coyle, Committee Member Fee and Committee Member Barnes

Absent: 1 - Committee Member Carroll

Staff Present: Arts and Culture Coordinator Guylene Ozlanski and Recreation Specialist Christine Rubino Also Present: Nancy Martin

3. OLD BUSINESS

None.

4. **NEW BUSINESS**

4.1 Appoint New Chairman

MOTION BY Committee Member Fee, SECONDED BY Committee Member Coyle, to ELECT Committee Member Barnes as the Public Art Subcommittee Chairman. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Ayes: 3 Committee Member Coyle, Committee Member Fee and Committee Member Barnes
- 4.2 Approve Final Design for Traffic Cabinet Art

Committee Members reviewed all of the artists' final files.

MOTION BY Chairman Barnes, SECONDED BY Committee Member Coyle, to APPROVE the Proposed Designs by Artists Becca Farmer, Nathan Butt, Carson Grier, and Bonnie Lewis. The motion carried by the following vote: Ayes: 3 - Committee Member Coyle, Committee Member Fee and Committee Member Barnes

Approve Final Design for Traffic Cabinet Art

MOTION BY Chairman Barnes, SECONDED BY Committee Member Coyle, to APPROVE that Artist Anthony Galto Remove the Image of the Drone and Flying Car from his Design, use a Singular Color on the Banners, and submit a "High Finish Level" Drawing to Present to the Public. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Committee Member Coyle, Committee Member Fee and Committee Member Barnes

4.3 Select Featured Artists for Chalk Art in the Park

Committee members reviewed the work of 12 artists and selected six featured artists for the Chalk Art in the Park event. These featured artists will receive a \$250 stipend for their art services on November 3, 2018. This activity is funded by a generous donation from Arizona Public Service. Featured artists include:

-Ryan Williams
-Amy Call Wilkins
-Amii Weller
-Lea Rankin
-Megan Reiker
-Annmarie Perry
The six additional artists will receive a \$100 stipend for participating at the event. These artists are:
-Maria Bueno
-Leslie Jones
-Gina Lane
-Clair Lazarowski
-Christopher Ohr
-Shannon Crossland

5. INFORMATION ITEMS

None.

6. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, Chairman Barnes adjourned the meeting at 10:41 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted by:

Jacque Bento do O', Administrative Assistant

Guylene Ozlanski, Arts and Culture Coordinator

Date: _____