AGENDA ITEM #	
DATE: February 18, 2015	
COAC NUMBER	

CITY OF GOODYEAR PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION ACTION FORM

SUBJECT: Election of Officers	STAFF PRESENTER: Katie Wilken,
	Interim Planning Manger

RECOMMENDATION:

Conduct election of Chairman and Vice Chairman for the upcoming year.

PURPOSE:

The Rules of Procedures for the Planning and Zoning Commission state that the Chairman and Vice Chairman shall be elected annually at the first meeting in January. Since the January meeting was cancelled, elections are being held this month.

BACKGROUND AND COMMUNITY BENEFIT:

To elect the Chairman, a Commission member should make a motion recommending appointment of one the members as Chairman. If that motion is seconded by another member, the motion is voted on by the Commission, usually by voice vote. If the vote is not conclusive, the Chairman may request a roll call vote. If the motion fails, the Chairman shall entertain a new motion recommending another Commission member. Once a motion passes, the newly elected Chairman will assume the position on the dais and conduct the election of Vice Chairman.

To elect the Vice Chairman, the same procedure should be followed as was used to elect the Chairman. Once a motion passes, the newly elected Vice Chairman will assume the position on the dais next to the seat of the Chairman.

PREVIOUS ACTIONS AND DISCUSSION:

The current Chairman (Luke Schlosser) and Vice Chairman (Ryan Peters) were elected to their positions in 2013 and re-elected in 2014. Chairman Schlosser and Commissioner Leslie Miller have resigned and two new members have been appointed to take their places. Jason Kish was appointed to a three-year term expiring on February 9, 2018. Kathleen Molony was appointed to serve out Leslie Miller's unexpired term expiring on January 31, 2016. Commissioners Vickie Hamilton and Ryan Peters each were reappointed to a three year term expiring February 9, 2018. Commissioners may serve up to three consecutive, three-year terms. There is no limit on the number of annual terms a Commission member may serve as Chairman or Vice Chairman.

ATTACHMENTS:

None